Australia  Ireland  New Zealand  South Africa  Scotland  UK  Wales

Proudly supported by

Governing Committee

  • Chairman: Paul Harris (N Z) +64 27 273 1029
    Secretary: Hugh McCarroll (N Z) + 64 27 2606475,

    Honorary Life Member:

    John Fagan, MBE


    Australia; Peter Artridge, Ralph Blue, Grant Borchardt, David Brooker, Mike Henderson, Dave Grant
    New Zealand; Bart Hadfield, Paul Harris, Robert McLaren, Neil Fagan, Ronnie King, Alistair Emslie
    South Africa; Eddie Archer, Hendrik Botha, Quinton Rogers
    United Kingdom; Martyn David, John Fraser

    Trainee Referees:

    New Zealand; Ewen Mathieson
    Australia; Glen Haynes, Hilton Barrett
    South Africa; Piet Nel
    United Kingdom; Andy Rankin

Selection of Referees

Country Committees nominate qualified shearing judges to become WSSRS trainee referees for approval at the AGM of their respective shearing sports National Committees. Shearing Sports New Zealand, Australia Sports Shear, South Africa Sheep Shearing Federation, British Isles Shearing Competition Association. In New Zealand a twelve or three x four year term of refereeing is preceded by a probationary period, with selected referees attending and observing at least three record attempts.

A term is taken from trainee referee's first refereeing assignment. Committees may re-elect referees after term is up if so desired.